Volunteers are a very important part of the Ministry here at First United Methodist church. Laity refers to any member of the congregation that is not an ordained Pastor. Our Lay Leadership is very dedicated to the mission of our church. Below is a list of all our committees and those who currently serve on them. There is also a brief description the committees responsibilities and role.

With our new Single Board we have combined the Board of Trustees, Staff- Parish Relations Committee (SPRC), and Finance Committees to create a more efficient way of governing our church business.  

Council Of Ministries: This committee meets with all heads of ministries throughout the church and brings news and needs to the single board for action. Members are Jay Watson, Marie Allen, Ellen Hardin, Ed Murphy, Heidi Stone, Jenna Purdy and Karie Willrich.

Nominations and Lay Development Committee: The Charge of this Committee is to identify, develop, deploy, evaluate and monitor Christian spiritual leadership for the local Congregation. Members are Jeremy Finch, J. Paul Bruhn, Jay Watson, Andy Watson, Marie Allen, Charlie Learned, Annette Cooper, Sandy Rochelle, Dave Connor.

Worship Committee: The main charge of the Worship committee is to work on all things dealing with worship. They meet with the Pastor, the Music Director and other key Worship participants to plan meaningful and inspirational Worship opportunities throughout the year. Members are Mary Ann Hatfield, Kari Willrich, J. Paul Bruhn, Nancy Hajek, Heidi Stone, Jan Jenkins, and Jenna Purdy.

FUMC, La Grange Foundation: The FUMC Foundation was established by this congregation in 1997. For members and friends it creates the opportunity to make charitable gifts that will permanent endowed funds to promote and enhance the church’s ministry and Mission. Some of these funds are used for Scholarships given each year for higher education and others are given to other non budgeted purpose the Church Council approves. Members are Donna Pyle, Sally Bohot, Bob Field, J Paul Bruhn, and Bill Koenig.